On the Silk Road (Part Two): Shadow of the Great Wall

In my first post in this Silk Road series, I showed some of the photos that my husband and daughter took in western China, and I talked a bit about how these had inspired me to create two embroidered pictures.

This post is going to focus on the first of these pictures:
“Shadow of the Great Wall.”

"Shadow of the Great Wall"

“Shadow of the Great Wall”

This piece was inspired by the ruined watch towers of the Great Wall, which stud the landscape like worn-down, broken teeth. These towers are lonely remnants of China’s past glories, and they’re a long way from the snaking stretches of wall to the North of Beijing, which are often covered in a blanket of tourists, bottles and scratched out hearts. These towers are abandoned and, long stripped of their brick facings, their solid cores continue to fight against the passing of time.

Another ruined Watchtower thrusting into the landscape.

Ruined Watchtower on the Great Wall.

Although the piece required plenty of the techniques that I use to make my jewellery pieces, it also required a lot more composition. I wanted the image to be abstract but maintain a sense of form. This time, instead of making a piece that was actually 3D, I aimed to give a 2D picture depth and a strong feeling of texture.
I’ve included a few shots to show you the work in progress, but I’ve realised that I didn’t take any photos of the initial stages – evidently remembered halfway through!

I hope you’ve enjoyed this post, and send me a comment if you’ve got any questions!

Close up

10 thoughts on “On the Silk Road (Part Two): Shadow of the Great Wall

    • Hello, and thanks for your comment, I don’t use Angelina fibres. Instead I build up layers of organza and fabric and embroider it, then use a heat gun to melt through the layers, revealing whatever is underneath. The embroidering is really important as it provides resistance to the heat gun. Then I build up another layer of bits and pieces fabric/ribbons/thread, add more organza and repeat!

  1. Pingback: On the Silk Road: Gobi (Part Three) | Wai-Yuk Kennedy Textile Art

Leave a Comment

