Glass Beads

A few weeks ago I spent a fantastic day at a glass bead workshop, thanks to a lovely friend who arranged it as a present. The workshop was held at the studios of Mango Beads, run by Manda Muddimer in Barnstaple: http://www.mangobeads.co.uk/

Some of my crude first attempts

Some of my first attempts

I’ve never worked with glass before and found the whole day was enormous fun, although some of the techniques felt a bit like trying to pat your head and rub your tummy at the same time! Like any skill it’s mainly a question of familiarity and I definitely feel like this is a craft that I could become really absorbed in.

I would need much more practice!

I need much more practice!

The trial beads I made during the day were a bit too crude to be really satisfying, but I am so glad that I had this opportunity to try out a new area of craftwork. Sadly, I may have to face the fact that there aren’t enough hours in the day for me to pursue all the things I am, or could be, interested in! I hope that one day I’ll find the time for a deeper exploration of the world of glass.

How it should be done!

How it should be done!

The beads shown above were made by Manda and are an example of what can be made using the lampwork beadmaking process.

2 thoughts on “Glass Beads

  1. Pingback: Beads | getloworld

  2. Lovely efforts there. i know what you mean about having time to do all that you want to do, I feel that way too. We have lamp work torches at College, A while ago we had a class on them, and I loved it, do you know i’ve not been on them since, ahhh time, my elusive friend 🙂

Leave a Comment

