Time for a Review

This blog has now been running for exactly four months and I thought that now might be the time for a bit of a round-up! Over the past four months the blog has featured 90 posts, received nearly 1500 likes, 12,500 site views and is now edging towards 300 followers. I don’t really have much idea of what these statistics mean, as I haven’t anything to compare them to, but I can say that the blog has become a major feature in my life and in that of my whole family.

One of my textile brooches

One of my textile brooches

I’m also going to take this moment to make a few confessions – this blog is not entirely a one person production, which has no doubt been obvious from day one for those who know me personally! For one, my standard of English is at times a bit shaky, so my daughter Isla is the go-to girl for language and editing (any posts where the English standard slips a bit are ones that Isla was unavailable to check!). My son Greg and his girlfriend Emma have also been a fantastic help – they were the ones who convinced me that I should start a blog in the first place, and Greg set everything up for me and gave me lessons so I could get things started.
And of course there’s my husband Alex: my partner in business and in life, and now my partner in blogging. He talks through the ideas for all the posts with me, and helps me brainstorm lists of upcoming ideas to keep us going. He is also the one in charge of sorting out photos and making sure that everything is ready to publish.

The beautiful landscape near my home

The beautiful landscape near my home (click on images to view full size)

When this blog started I had no clear idea what it would be about apart from that it would be a place for me to share something about my textile work. I didn’t really know what I had to say or what people wanted to hear, and I’m sure that I’ve broken lots of rules about good blogging! Four months in, I’ve decided that this blog is quite simply about a) my work and b) those things that excite and inspire me.
Hopefully this means that I’ll continue connecting with all of you who have similar interests and that I can pass a little inspiration along!

I never fail to be inspired by the sea near my home

I never fail to be inspired by the sea near my home

Lastly, I can say that the regular work of producing this blog has made me re-examine all the things in life that fascinate me. In looking for things to share with others, I have regained my appreciation of how lucky I am in what I do and in the wonderful place that I live in (despite the appalling weather!)

A misty morning close to my home

A misty morning close to my home

The form of this brooch was originally inspired by drawings of the Cornish landscape

The form of this brooch was originally inspired by drawings of the Cornish landscape

11 thoughts on “Time for a Review

  1. How wonderful that your family is so involved and supportive! Your art is amazing, and the response to your blog has been very much deserved – by all of you =D

  2. Great to hear about the family behind the blog! Congratulations to all of you – I love your blog even more now, knowing the effort that goes into it. And whilst I’m sure your family is a great support – I reckon the success is mostly down to your amazing talent, Wai-Yuk Kennedy! 🙂

Leave a Comment

