New Textile Brooches

Here are some photographs of three new brooches I have been working on. Each one uses slightly different approaches to adding surface detail and embellishment. I hope that you find them interesting.

Textile brooch finished with raised metallic hand embroidery

Textile brooch finished with raised metallic hand embroidery

I was searching for a fresh way to create a focal point on the above brooch. My first attempts were not satisfying me so I tried some raised work in metallic thread. I will want to live with it for a little while before I decide how I feel about the effect but it is a little bit different.

Textile brooch finished with velvet appliqué

Textile brooch finished with velvet appliqué

I love the way that velvet contrasts with other fabric surfaces. I have acquired a large range of coloured velvet materials and I am using them more and more on my jewellery pieces.

Textile brooch finished with appliqué and small glass beads

Textile brooch finished with appliqué and small glass beads

Just recently I have begun using appliqué in a slightly more “aggressive” manner. Normally, I rely on the shapes of the textile pieces themselves to generate movement in my work. With strongly contrasting appliqué I can generate other lines of movement that interact with the overall fabric shape.

9 thoughts on “New Textile Brooches

  1. Pingback: intermezzo: the glory and the simplicity « tiaras and trianon

Leave a Comment

