Colour choices for a textile brooch

A few posts ago, I showed you a photograph of a new brooch I had made. Now I have completed another version of the same brooch in completely different colours and was struck by how different the two pieces look. I thought that people might be interested in seeing the two together.

The first brooch in blue with green and purple

The first brooch I made in blue with green and purple

New version of the brooch in red and gold

New version of the brooch in red and gold with salmon velvet appliqué

With its “cloud” motif, the design felt quite Chinese so this version is executed in overtly “chinese” colours, though I added some salmon velvet appliqué in the end just to give some more variety and richness.

The blue brooch being worn by a model

The blue brooch being worn

I would love to hear any opinions on the design, or preferences between the two colour schemes!

7 thoughts on “Colour choices for a textile brooch

  1. Absolutely nice design and colours, I do love both versions but for me personnally, the red and gold is the winner, my very light skintone needs something to brighten it up.

Leave a Comment

