New-style Necklace

I finished a new necklace a couple of nights ago that is a little bit different from any I have done before. Instead of one main textile form, this one has repeated elements going most of the way round the choker wire.

Here I am wearing my latest creation

Here I am wearing my latest creation

The individual textile elements are based on an earring design. The size of the fabric pieces gets smaller towards the back though this is hardly noticeable looking at the finished item. At first I just planned to use beads between the textile shapes but then I thought that a little bit of variation was needed, so I added some elements embroidered on soluble fabric just like my experiments at the Sue Rangeley workshop I attended.

The complete necklace

The complete necklace

This was just a simple idea that I decided was worth trying but it has already got me thinking about how I could develop it further – watch this space!

A detail view showing the strands made using soluble fabric

A detail view showing the strands made using soluble fabric

A view of the reverse side of the neckpiece

A view of the reverse side of the neckpiece

This necklace has just been added to my Etsy shop

If you have any thoughts on this new piece I would love to hear them.

13 thoughts on “New-style Necklace

  1. I think it’s beautiful! It really looks like a flower. I love the way the petals lay on the neck. Very graceful and perfect beads to accent the fabric pieces.

  2. This looks like a lovely new direction for your work – really like the addition of the embroidered elements in between the beads etc.. This adds a delicate touch to the necklace … =D

Leave a Comment

