Stormy Sunset

There are many official dates that mark out the passing year but one of my favourite personal markers of the coming spring is the first day I can drive home without using my lights. Yesterday the horrendously wet weather we have been having took a little break and I found myself driving in beautiful sunshine.

A brilliant sunset but this photo does not show the howling wind!

A brilliant sunset but this photo does not show the howling wind!

After picking up my husband Alex at home, we drove to the beach to see this recently very unfamiliar sun set below the sea. It was a very windy day and the air was full of sea spray but the light was beautiful. The wind was stacking the waves up so high, they seemed to tower over the beach and the water at some moments looked almost solid.

A shot taken along the beach shows the air full of spray

A shot taken along the beach shows the air full of spray

I got busy with my camera and got some nice shots despite the howling wind freezing my fingers and having to fight to avoid being blown over. I ended with wet frozen feet too because my wellington boots were leaking and I was caught by a few fast moving waves.

The waves were towering over the beach

The waves were towering over the beach

We stayed until the sun sank below the horizon, then, as the sky darkened we decided it was a special day – to be marked with takeaway fish and chips rather than the healthy dinner waiting for us at home!

All too soon, the sun was gone!

All too soon, the sun was gone!

One thought on “Stormy Sunset

Leave a Comment

